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RE: Reimbursement of Directed Closure Activities at Non-Commercial Sites 

On Sept. 18, 2015, Governor McCrory signed Session Law 2015-241, which included legislation that will bring 

the Noncommercial Underground Storage Tank (UST) reimbursement program to an end on Dec. 31, 2016, 

and limits eligibility to the remaining funds to only those releases reported prior to Oct. 1, 2015. As of 

October 1, 2015, no new releases may be submitted for reimbursement eligibility. 

As described in the UST Section memorandum dated Sept. 25, 2014, actions taken or costs incurred at 

noncommercial sites after that date which were not explicitly directed by the Department under the 

conditions defined in SL 2015-241 Section 14.16B.(b) will not be reimbursable. All actions at eligible sites, 

including those previously directed or preapproved prior to, but not completed by, the date of the Sept. 25, 

2015 memo, must be re-authorized to ensure compliance with the new law. (For individual actions that 

were actively being conducted on Sept. 25, 2015 itself, please contact the UST Section for additional 

guidance.) 

The following will describe the typical cleanup and closure activities that may be preapproved for only those 

noncommercial sites that reported a release to the Department by midnight on Sept. 30, 2015, and the 

maximum rates eligible for reimbursement from the Noncommercial Fund. 

Other activities may be evaluated for preapproval on a case-by-case basis, where shown to be a more cost­

effective option than the tasks described below or explicitly necessary based upon the exempted emergency 

conditions outlined in SL 2015-241. 

If there are any questions regarding this Session Law or the Noncommercial Fund Tasks and Rates described 

below, please contact the UST section at (919) 707-8171, or me directly at (919) 707-8263 and by email at 

art.barnhardt@ncdenr.gov . 

Art Barnhardt 

Chief, UST Section 

NCDEQ 

~Nothing Compares~ 

State of North Carolina I Environmental Quality 

1601 Mail Service Center I Raleigh, North Carolina27699-1601 

919-707-8600 



Page2 of3 
Noncommercial Fund Reimbursement Memo 
October 26, 2015 

Task 6.183 Deed Recordation: Any site that is being closed to any other standard than that which would 

allow for unrestricted use of the property is required to have Notice of Residual Petroleum with land use 

restrictions (NRP/LUR) prior to being issued a Notice of No Further Action (NFA) by the Department. The 

template for this notice can be found at the UST Section's website: 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wm/ust/forms. 

Option 1: Reimbursement will be made at the statewide recording fee of $26. It is not required for any 
person other than the property owner file this notice. 

Option 2: The UST Section, as resources are available to do so, can file this notice for you at no cost. If the 
filing of the NRP is part of a pending real estate transaction, you may not use th is option . 

Task 6.032 Public Notice: Along with Task 6.183, the property owner is required to send certified letters 

to the county health director (http://www.ncalhd .org/directors/) and either the city or county manager, 

whichever is applicable, as well as the adjacent property owners to the property on which the NRP/LUR is 
being placed. Reimbursement will be granted at $7 per letter with a receipt from the postal service required 

at the time of submittal of the claim for reimbursement. 

Task 3.399 Monitoring Well Abandonment: In most cases, if you have reported a release and you have had 

an assessment conducted, you have at least one, two-inch monitoring well (MW) on your property. You 
have two options: 

Option 1. 

You can keep this MW so that in the future you can have it sampled, at your expense, in order to 

prove that the residual contamination has naturally attenuated and then you may make a request to 
have the NRP/LUR removed from the property by the Department. Any permit fees levied by the 

county or municipality will be your responsibility. It will also be your responsibility to maintain the 

integrity of the MW. 

Option 2: 

You can abandon the MW. 

If you decide to abandon the MW, then you have two options to choose from: 

Option 1: 

You can call a certified well drilling contractor to have the MW(s) abandoned with a maximum 

reimbursement not to exceed $500 including all materials and travel. 

Option 2: 

You can abandon the MW yourself in accordance with the NC Well Construction Rules 2C found at; 

http://www.wakegov.com/water/wells/Documents/State2CRules.pdf, Page 21, Section lSA NCAC 

02C .0113 ABANDONMENT OF WELLS (d). This authority is retained by the land owner or lessee 
under the exemptions listed in North Carolina General Statute (G.S.) 87-98.4(b)(2). 
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Task 3.310 Abandonment of Water Supply Well: In some cases, in order to facilitate closure of the 

petroleum release at your property, it may be necessary for you to abandon your water supply well (WSW). 

If you decide to abandon the WSW, then you have two options to choose from: 

Option 1: 

You can call a certified well drilling contractor to have the WSW abandoned with a maximum 

reimbursement not to exceed $600 including all materials and travel. 

Option 2: 

You can abandon the WSW yourself in accordance with the NC Well Construction Rules 2C found 

at; http://www.wakegov.com/water/wells/Documents/State2CRules.pdf, Page 21, Section lSA 

NCAC 02C .0113 ABANDONMENT OF WELLS (d). This authority is retained by the land owner or 

lessee under the exemptions listed in North Carolina General Statute (G.S.) 87-98.4(b)(2). 

Task 11.050 Connection to Municipal Water Systems: In some cases, in order to facilitate closure of the 

petroleum release at your property, it may be necessary for you to connect your home to an existing 

municipal water system. Reimbursement may be requested for the documented, pre-approved cost of 

connection, not to exceed $600, and tap fees. Once connection is accomplished, your well should be 

abandoned as outlined above and those costs may be reimbursed as stated above. 


